.

Be glad in the Lord and rejoice! Psalm 32:11



Wednesday, May 4, 2011

Book Blog Tour Stop - Friendship Bread by Darien Gee


I'm thrilled to be hosting a book blog tour stop today for the fabulous new book, "Friendship Bread" by Darien Gee.


Friendship Bread cover

About Friendship Bread:

It’s more than just a recipe—it’s a way of life.
For fans of Kristin Hannah and Kate Jacobs, Darien Gee’s deeply felt and utterly charming novel follows two estranged sisters, three newfound friends, and—ultimately—a whole town brought together by a simple loaf of Amish Friendship Bread.
In Avalon, Illinois, a woman and her young daughter return home to find a plate of Amish Friendship Bread along with a bag of starter on their doorstep. There’s no note, just a yellow sticky with the words, “I hope you enjoy it.” The instructions tell them to feed the starter over a ten-day period, then bake two loaves and share the remaining starter with three other people.

At the insistence of her five-year old daughter, Julia Evarts reluctantly follows the instructions. Soon, the bread and its starter are making their way through the town of Avalon, touching the lives of its residents in ways both comical and unexpected. Julia befriends Madeline Davis, 74, owner and proprietor of Madeline’s Tea Salon and Antiques who harbors a secret of her own, and Hannah de Brisay, 28, a concert cellist who relocates to Avalon after the premature end of her career and marriage.

Julia’s sister, Livvy, is struggling with her own loneliness as she and her husband, Tom, try for a child of their own. Julia’s husband, Mark, is tired of the sadness that seems to have taken over their lives for the past five years. As the town of Avalon becomes overrun with the Amish Friendship Bread starter, a kernel of a story presents itself and activist and reporter Edie is quick to jump on it, even if it means pointing a finger at Julia as the instigator and dividing the small community that they live in.

When a neighboring town is devastated by high floods, Julia and her friends supply loaves of the bread to the residents and volunteers. As word spreads, so does help. Soon the entire town of Avalon is doing their part to aid their neighbors in need as they put their differences aside. Friendship Bread is a captivating, engaging novel about life and loss, friendship and community, and what endures even when the unthinkable happens.

From the adorable cover to the charming story inside, I thoroughly enjoyed "Friendship Bread."  Although I have never personally baked a loaf of this legendary bread, I've heard about it for years, and through this lively, fast-paced story, I almost - almost! - want to try making a batch or two.

Darien Gee has created a wonderful cast of characters (and there are quite a few) to populate this story, and she creatively includes a bit of romance, a bit of mystery (where did that first starter come from?) and a lesson or two about the value of frienship in her tale that will delight  readers and is sure to have them clamoring for more!

Perfect for Mother's Day, birthdays, or "just because I love you friend" days!

About Darien Gee:


Darien Gee photoDarien Gee lives with her husband and three children
in Hawaii. She is the bestselling author of three previous novels (Good Things, Sweet Life and Table Manners) written under the name Mia King. You can visit Darien Gee’s website at http://www.friendshipbreadkitchen.com/. And check out the Friendship Bread Kitchen Facebook fan page.


My thanks to Cheryl C. Malandrinos with Pump Up Your Book Promotion for incuding me on this tour and for providing a review copy of the book. I was not compensated for my opinion.








3 comments:

Cheryl said...

Thanks for hosting Darien today. I've already heard so many amazing things about this book. I'm so glad I am reviewing it too.

Beth(bookaholicmom) said...

I reviewed this book today also. I loved it. It was so charming. I have made friendship bread before and it is worth all the trouble. It's very tasty!

Mary said...

This is definitely on my TBR list - I've loved all the Mia King novels :)