Be glad in the Lord and rejoice! Psalm 32:11

Wednesday, June 13, 2012

Book Blog Tour Stop - "Waiting For Sunrise" by Eva Marie Everson

Today, I'm hosting a book blog tour stop for "Waiting for Sunrise" by Eva Marie Everson.

About the Book:

Sometimes finding your future means making peace with your past
Patsy Milstrap wishes she could leave her past behind. Though she tries to put on a brave front for the sake of her family, the wounds still ache, and the scars on her soul are still deeply felt. At her concerned husband's gentle insistence, they take a vacation from South Carolina on Cedar Key, an idyllic island on Florida's Gulf Coast. A week in paradise will do them good, he says.

When a familiar--and most unexpected--face greets her at a seaside restaurant, Patsy knows she can no longer run from the past. But what will opening old wounds mean? And what will the future hold?

With a large helping of Southern charm, Waiting for Sunrise is a touching story of family, young love, and the need for forgiveness. Eva Marie Everson expertly draws out the bittersweet moments of life, weaving them into a tale that will envelop your soul.

I was charmed by this story.  Set during the post-World War II era, the story captures the flavor of a time when new things are possible, and yet there was a lingering atmosphere of old mannerisms that would soon be changing.  The story is based in the South - South Carolina, Georgia and Florida - which is always one of my favorite settings for fiction.

Eva Marie Everson does a great job of telling a story of hope and the power of keeping faith with Waiting for Sunrise."  She also handles the secondary story of spousal and child abuse with gentleness and tact, showing how the memories of childhood never really fade away in adulthood.

This is the first book I have read of Everson's, but after experiencing her storytelling skills, I will be looking for others written by her.

In conjunction with the release of "Waiting For Sunrise," Eva Marie Everson is holding a contest to win a Kindle Fire.  For more information and to enter, check out her website at http://www.evamarieeversonauthor.com/#!kindle-contest

About The Author:

Eva Marie Everson is a successful speaker and the award-winning author of Things Left Unspoken, This Fine Life, and Chasing Sunsets. She is coauthor of the Potluck Club books and the Potluck Catering Club series. She lives in Florida.

I received a review copy of this book from the publisher. I was not compensated for my opinion.

“Available June 2012 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.”


lucille said...

I recently came across your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I don't know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.


Diverticulitis Treatment Diverticulitis Diet

Mary (Bookfan) said...

Sounds like a good book with complex characters and issues. Thanks for letting us know about it, Sharon!

Eva Marie Everson said...

Thank you, Sharon!

Be sure to read "Chasing Sunsets" which introduces Patsy. The third book in the series, "Slow Moon Rising" will release next year in the spring/summer.

I hope everyone will enter the Kindle Fire contest! :)

Eva Marie Everson
Waiting for Sunrise

Sharon's Garden of Book Reviews said...

Thank you, Eva, for dropping by. I have Chasing Sunsets on my To-look-for List!

Thanks also to Lucille and Mary for dropping by! (Mary, you'll like this one)

Netherland said...

Waiting for Sunrise by Eva Marie Everson is a book in the Cedar Key Novel Series that looks at Patsy Milstrap and her wishes to leave everything in her past behind her. Patsy had a difficult childhood which left her with feelings of neglect after her mother sent her away at the age of 13. Patsy's past never truly leaves her, as she is still struggling with her childhood memories after her marriage and birth of 5 children. Her husband decides what she needs is a vacation to Cedar Key on Florida's Gulf Coast. While vacationing, she sees someone from her past which causes her to face a difficult time in her life.

The book is set up in flashbacks where we learn more about Patsy's childhood as we progress through the book. The reasoning behind Patsy's mother sending her away isn't as clear cut as may originally believed, and we see the devastating effects an abusive relationship can have on a family as Patsy's mother must make difficult decisions to protect her children.