Be glad in the Lord and rejoice! Psalm 32:11

Monday, July 30, 2012

Book Review - Midnight Promises: A Sweet Magnolia Novel by Sherryl Woods

I adore Sherryl Woods' "Sweet Magnolia" series, and was thrilled to find out that she has three new stories just in time for summer reading.

The first book, "Midnight Promises," kicks off the new trilogy, and is the story of newlyweds Karen and Elliott Cruz.

Isn't this a gorgeous cover!!

When Elliott Cruz first courted struggling single mom Karen Ames, it it was a romance worthy of any Sweet Magnolia fantasy. The sexy personal trainer made it his mission to restore Karen's strength—physical and emotional—and to charm her children.

Now, a few years into the marriage, colliding dreams threaten to tear a few years into the marriage, colliding dreams threaten to tear them them apart. Elliott's desire to finance the business opportunity of a lifetime with their hard-earned "baby money" stirs Karen's deep-rooted financial insecurities. It's the discovery that their brother-in-law is cheating on Elliott's sister—and thinks it's justified—that puts their irreconcilable differences into perspective.

Will their own loving fidelity be a bond so strong they can triumph against all odds?

I was so impressed with the storyline of this book.  Sherryl Woods presents a couple who are having troubles, and she doesn't sugar-coat the obstacles these two headstrong people must overcome.  But the overlying theme of the book, as well as the series, is that love will conqueor all problems, as long as you believe in and support each other.

I also was deeply impressed with the side story of Elliott's sister, Adelia, who is have marital struggles of her own.  She turns out to be a strong, confident woman in the end, and an inspiration to others around her.

And, of course, there are the lively, feisty and adorable Sweet Magnolia - ladies who are there for each other in times of joy and times of sorrow. I want to have friends like these women, if only for the mean margaritas and outrageous guacamole they make! :)

I highly recommend anything written by Sherryl Woods, and I promise that you will fall in love with the Sweet Magnolia's not matter if "Midnight Promises" is your first introduction to the series, or if you are a faithful follower already!

With her roots firmly planted in the South, Sherryl Woods has written many of her more than 100 books in that distinctive setting, whether in her home state of Virginia, her adopted state, Florida, or her much-adored South Carolina. Sherryl is best known for her ability to creating endearing small town communities and families. She is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of over 75 romances for Silhouette Desire and Special Edition.

Be sure to check out her website at www.sherrylwoods.com for more information on her books, and a wonderful contest to celebrate her latest trilogy!

Come back tomorrow for my review of "Catching Fireflies" - the second book in the summer series!

Release Date - July 31st

And coming in August!

Release Date - August 28th

My thanks to Eric Glover from Media-Connect for the review copy of this book.  I was not compensated for my opinion.

1 comment:

Melissas Eclectic Bookshelf said...

This sounds like a great series plus I adore those covers! I just want to be in those scenes!!!