.

Be glad in the Lord and rejoice! Psalm 32:11



Friday, May 24, 2013

Book Blog Tour Stop and Review - Cascade by Maryanne O'Hara



About The Book:


CascadePublication Date: April 30, 2013
Publisher: Penguin Books
Paperback; 384p

A Slate Magazine “Best Books 2012″
A People Magazine “People Pick”
A Library Journal 2012 “Best Bet”
Boston Globe “Best of the New, 2012″
A Massachusetts “Must Read, 2013″

During the 1930s in a small town fighting for its survival, a conflicted new wife seeks to reconcile her artistic ambitions with the binding promises she has made.

Fans of Richard Russo, Amor Towles, Sebastian Barry, and Paula McLain will devour this transporting novel about the eternal tug between our duties and our desires, set during in New York City and New England during the Depression and New Deal eras.

It’s 1935, and Desdemona Hart Spaulding has sacrificed her plans to work as an artist in New York to care for her bankrupt, ailing father in Cascade, Massachusetts. When he dies, Dez finds herself caught in a marriage of convenience, bound to the promise she made to save her father’s Shakespeare Theater, even as her town may be flooded to create a reservoir for Boston. When she falls for artist Jacob Solomon, she sees a chance to escape and realize her New York ambitions, but is it morally possible to set herself free?





My Thoughts:

I enjoy reading historical fiction and I found "Cascade" by  Maryanne O'Hara to be a very enjoyable read.

O'Hara takes her readers into the Depression era of the 1930s with a story of a woman unsatisfied with her life and who struggles to find herself in a time when women aren't encouraged to be independent.

 O'Hara's storyline is fascinating, with the tale set with a background of upheaval for a town facing elimination in favor of a new source of water for Boston. Her characters are also intriguing - with the rather selfish Desdemona at the center of the action as the men around her swirl in a vat of high emotions and indecision.  I struggled with a love/hate view of Desdemona and found her story enthralling.

I highly recommend this book for those who enjoy historical fiction with a romantic twist.





About The Author:

Maryanne O'Hara

Maryanne O’Hara was the longtime associate fiction editor at the award-winning literary journal Ploughshares. She received her MFA from Emerson College fifteen years ago, and wrote short fiction that was widely published before committing to the long form. She lives on a river near Boston.

For more information on Maryanne O’Hara, please visit her website.

  You can also find her on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest and GoodReads.



See what other bloggers thought of "Cascade" - http://hfvirtualbooktours.com/cascadevirtualtour/



My thanks to Historical Fiction Virtual Tours for including me on this tour and to the publisher for providing the review copy.  I was not compensated for my opinion.

No comments: