.

Be glad in the Lord and rejoice! Psalm 32:11



Tuesday, July 30, 2013

BookSparks Summer Reading Road Trip Book Stop - "Mandatory Release" by Jess Riley



image001


About The Book:

With appeal for fans of Jonathan Tropper, Tom Perrotta, and Laurie Notaro, this snarky mash-up of Girls and Oz is so painfully honest you might think you’re reading a memoir—except the author isn’t a smartass guy in a wheelchair who works in a prison.

Thirty-year-old Graham Finch spends his days trying to rehabilitate inmates and his nights trying to rehabilitate his love life. —until a new coworker, aka his high school crush Drew Daniels, walks through the prison gates one hot summer morning. Drew is on the run from a painful past that’s nearly crushed her faith in love. Together, they might have just what it takes to mend their hearts. If only finding their way to one another were easier than working with convicted felons.

Loaded with twisted humor and pathos, Mandatory Release is a darkly comic, unexpectedly sexy love story about broken people putting themselves back together and learning that no matter what you lock up—a person, secrets, or your heart—sooner or later, everything must be released.
 
 
My Thoughts:
 
I found "Mandatory Release" to be a surprisingly fun book to read.  I approached it with trepidation, wondering how a book about teaching in prison could be very interesting, but author Jess Riley takes her readers not only into the heart of the prison, but into the heart of her characters Drew and Graham as she weaves their stories of trying to help the inmates they work with while trying to sort out their own lives in the process.
 
This is a well-written, intriguing, and yes, funny story that I thoroughly enjoyed.  I highly recommend it!
 

                                            


My thanks to BookSparks PR for including me on this blog tour and for providing the review copy of this book.  I was not compensated for my opinion.


"Mandatory Release" is just one of the many books being featured this summer on BookSparks' Summer Reading Road Trip.  To find out about the wonderful books being featured, check out their website at http://www.booksparkspr.com/src2013/




Follow on Bloglovin

No comments: