.

Be glad in the Lord and rejoice! Psalm 32:11



Saturday, August 3, 2013

Book Review - True Love by Jude Deveraux



I just adore anything that author Jude Deveraux writes, and her latest novel, "True Love," is another great example of her brilliant storytelling skills.



About The Book:


Jude Deveraux, the bestselling author of unforgettable romance, returns with a breathtaking first book in a fantastic new series—the Nantucket Brides trilogy. Set on the magical Massachusetts island, True Love introduces characters from a new generation of Montgomery-Taggerts, the beloved family from Deveraux’s classic novels.

Just as Alix Madsen is finishing up architectural school, Adelaide Kingsley dies and wills her, for one year, the use of a charming nineteenth-century Nantucket house. The elderly woman’s relationship to the Madsen family is a mystery to the spirited Alix—fresh from a romantic breakup—but for reasons of her own Alix accepts the quirky bequest, in part because it gives her time to plan her best friend’s storybook wedding.

But unseen forces move behind the scenes, creaking Kingsley House’s ancient floorboards. It seems that Adelaide Kingsley had a rather specific task for Alix: to solve the strange disappearance of one of the Kingsley women, Valentina, more than two hundred years ago. If that wasn’t troubling enough, Alix must deal with the arrogant (and extremely good-looking) architect Jared Montgomery, who is living in the property’s guesthouse.

Unbeknown to Alix, Jared has been charged with looking after her while she lives on the island—an easy task for him, considering the undeniable chemistry between the two. But Jared harbors secrets of his own, which, if revealed, may drive a wedge between the pair.

With a glorious Nantucket wedding on the horizon, sparks fly, and the ghosts of the past begin to reveal themselves—some of them literally. Finding their lives inextricably entwined with the turbulent fortunes of their ancestors, Alix and Jared discover that only by righting the wrongs of the past can they hope to be together.





My Thoughts:

Jude Deveraux always amazes me with the way she creates a fascinating story, filled with intriguing characters, and sprinkled with a touch of magic to bring the entire novel together.  And "True Love" is a prime example of her skills.

She brings modern, contemporary characters together with a ghostly presence from the past, and uses the topic of reincarnation to make this story a thrilling experience.

For fans of Jude Deveraux's Montgomery and Taggart families, "True Love" will be like a delightful trip back in time as she brings beloved characters from those books into her new story. But first time readers will have no problem understanding the back story and enjoying this first installment of Deveraux's new Nantucket Brides series.

I'm already looking forward to her next book!




About The Author:



Jude Deveraux is the author of forty-one New York Times bestsellers to date, including Moonlight in the Morning and A Knight in Shining Armor. There are more than sixty million copies of her books in print worldwide.

Jude Deveraux was born in Fairdale, Kentucky, the eldest of a family of three girls and one boy. After earning a degree in art from Murray State University and studying teaching at the University of New Mexico, she taught fifth grade in Santa Fe, New Mexico. She left when her first book, The Land of Enchantment, was accepted for publication by Avon books. 
Jude's first books were historical, chiefly featuring the Montgomery and Taggert families. Stories of the lives and loves of these families spanned over several centuries in the US and England. They are filled with details of the history and culture of the time periods and settings of her novels. Her more recent series of books focuses on the McTern family and its descendants. The novels are set in the fictional town of Edilean, Virginia, and go from when the family arrived in America to contemporary time.
Jude's exhaustive research on every aspect of her books has made for a rich and detailed background for each of her novels. Her stories are adventurous, funny, and at times heartwarming. Jude has had over thirty books on the New York Times Bestsellers List, over 60 million copies in print, and has been translated into 18 languages.
Jude has lived in England and Egypt as well as in several American states, and she has traveled around the world. She likes to read nonfiction and murder mysteries, work in her garden, and in boxing class, she enjoys showing much younger males that she can throw a mean right cross.

Website:
http://judedeveraux.com/



This book was purchased for my personal library.  I was not compensated for my opinion.
 

Follow on Bloglovin

4 comments:

Mystica said...

Like the sound of this one!

Renee B said...

This sounds like such a sweet story. I haven't read this author in years, but I really think I need to get back to reading her. Thanks for the great review!

Sharon Galligar Chance said...

She is one of my favorite authors, Renee - And this is the beginning of a new series!

Mystica, I think you'd like this one - lots of magic about it! :) Hope you're doing well!

Paulita said...

I've never read anything by Jude Devereaux. I'll try this one on your recommendation.